My Letter to the ACLU

Dear Mr. Nsombi Lambright, Executive Director

ACLU of Mississippi

753 N. Congress Street

Jackson, MS 39202

 

Hello, my name is Juan Alonso. I do not live in Mississippi, however, it was brought to my attention that the state constitution of Mississippi prohibits atheists and non-religious persons from holding public office. It is my belief that this is unconstitutional, I am not a lawyer, nor do I claim to have any legal knowledge about our court system, however, I do think that the state constitution is discriminatory, and promotes religion. The specific article of the state constitution that I’m referring to is the following:

Article 14, section 265: “No person who denies the existence of a Supreme Being shall hold any office in this state.”

I think this provision violates the Constitution. I’m sure it violates the First Amendment of the Constitution, but it also violates Article V, section 3 of the United States Constitution, that reads as follows:

The Senators and representatives before mentioned, and the Members of the several states Legislatures, and all executive and judicial Officers, both of the United States and of the several States, shall be bound by Oath or Affirmation, to support this Constitution; but  no religious test shall ever be required as a qualification to any office or public trust under the United States.

 

The provision in the state constitution of Mississippi is discriminatory, and, in my belief, unconstitutional. It would be greatly appreciated if you would take a look at this issue, and determine whether or not this violates the Constitution of the United States. Even if it does not violate the Constitution, it is highly discriminatively and intolerant of the disbelief of many members of the population of Mississippi. I express my gratitude for any attention that you might pay to this request.

 

Sincerely,

Juan Alonso

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

